yconic - Questions about Functions/Calc Semestered (MA4SEM)
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Questions about Functions/Calc Semestered (MA4SEM)

A photo of denden denden
Hi, I'm a grade 10 student and I've been looking at grade 12 courses for a while now.

Most of the university programs I want to enroll in require MCV4U which is Calculus and Vectors but my school does not offer it so I want to take MA4SEM as an alternate.
My school is non-semestered.

My questions are -
How does MA4SEM work? Do you take Functions first and then Calc? Does it take up two spots on my time table in one semester or just one? And would it really count for MCV4U?

AND! Is Functions the same as Advanced Functions?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
10 replies

A photo of Bscit Bscit
You are kinda screwed if you dont have Calc at your school. Ive never heard of the course code MA4SEM before. Your best bet is probably go to night school or summer school to get a Calc/Vectors Credit.

Functions is Gr11 while Advanced Functions is Gr12
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of xAnthonyLeong xAnthonyLeong

@Bscit wrote
You are kinda screwed if you dont have Calc at your school. Ive never heard of the course code MA4SEM before. Your best bet is probably go to night school or summer school to get a Calc/Vectors Credit.

Yeah just take night school or summer school.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of denden denden

@Bscit wrote

Thanks for the answer but by Functions, I meant the Functions in MA4SEM. The course is called "Functions and Calculus Semestered"
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Bscit Bscit

@denden wrote

@Bscit wrote