yconic - Ryerson or Rotman ??????????????????
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Ryerson or Rotman ??????????????????

A photo of angepange angepange
Which would be a better choice if I want to become a CA?

Im currently a student at U of T and have decided I want to study business. I want to go to Ryerson because I find the environment at U of T really depressing, but im also attracted to the prestige of Rotman. However, getting into Rotman would be tough (as I am not a direct entry student) and the tuition is nearly DOUBLE that of Ryerson. But im starting to think that it may be worth it...

How much does reputation matter in the business world? My biggest fear is I will be laughed at when I go looking for a job with Ryerson on my resume... :(
Was this helpful? Yes 0
21 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
I'm having the exact same issue.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Yay im not alone ! :cheers:

If it helps, everyone ive talked to has said Ryerson. Even my cousin who went to shulich said so too (hes now a grade 6 teacher... lol??). I also know someone who went to Ryerson for Finance and is making great money.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

I really like Ryersons program and want to got there, but I'm worried about not getting a job after. It seems like in the accounting world, a high gpa and a designation is all that really matters.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

I dont know about that...

Maybe for a Big 4 company. But there are so many more accounting jobs out there that are just as well paying and alot less demanding. Don't think that getting a job in the Big 4 = happiness. I plan to get a job in the government. Great pay and benefits, alot less stress !

Was this helpful? Yes 0