yconic - Second Year vs. First Year...
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Second Year vs. First Year...

A photo of biosci biosci
Ok so I know the workload/studying method changes but I just did horrible on my midterms. I had 3 of them this week and didn't do too swell. I passed one of the three and just barely passed. I don't know what happened. I mean I didn't do well in first year either...but I thought it gets...better?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
2nd year was my worst year academically of undergrad

3rd year was the best
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Toronto12 Toronto12
I'm actually in my second year and I have to say that courses do get harder as you go up.
Here's some insight;

I go to UTSC co-op management and this is my second year. During my first year, students are given tutorials which were really helpful. However, second year courses do not have any tutorials and you will rely much more on self studying and learning rather than T.As.

As for course averages, I noticed that much of the class had averages C to B averages during first and second year courses. You will most likely find that as you take upper year courses, class averages do go up (This isn't mainly because people are getting smarter and smarter but that poor students are just being weeded out of the program and courses).