yconic - Skipping ICS3U and taking ICS 4U
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Skipping ICS3U and taking ICS 4U

A photo of Vort3x Vort3x
hey guys, this is my first post on this forum.

i am a grade 12 student and I am heading into my final semester of high school soon. I am planning on going into engineering (mechanical) but i have neglected to take computer science last year. However, looking ahead, it seems like i have made a mistake...I just want to know the level of difficulty of the grade 11 comp sci course with respect to the grade 12 course. in my school, we are allowed to skip grade 11 pre-requisites if our grades are high enough. i was thinking about just taking grade 12 comp sci because i can but i don't want to take it if i am gonna fail at it :S any advice?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of ninetyfour ninetyfour
I haven't taken ICS4U, only ICS3U, but neither are necessary for mechanical engineering in that they are not pre-requisites. If you do want to take ICS4U, I don't know what the difficulty is like but I suggest you learn the basics of whatever programming language you learn at your school (for me, Java), and be strong in that before beginning the course.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of iliketurtles iliketurtles