yconic - Spare or Easy Course?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Spare or Easy Course?

A photo of Morggiebee Morggiebee
So basically I have until a week to choose my courses for my next year Grade 12 courses. I am a french immersion student so I will need a mandatory University French class and of course University English. I am hoping to get into McMaster or any other post secondary school to major in biomedical science or biology. Most universities want grade 12 calculus while some want both Calculus and advanced functions. I did horrible this year in math. I ended up with a final grade of 60% in advanced functions, however I know i can do better with the right teacher. I am planning to fast track grade 12 advanced functions in summer school. So for questions...

Is Grade 12 advanced functions an easier course than the grade 11 (rumor) and should i fast track it in grade 12 or should I take both calculus and advanced functions university level next year in grade 12?
(Keep in mind that I will also be taking Biology,Chemistry,English and French).

Also I want to take 2 spares because I'll have two free courses to take in grade 12, but people are telling me it's better to take take easier courses like gym or art instead of taking spares. Should I take a spare just in case I want to spend more time studying on math? or should I take easier subjects to bump up my average?

I know there are a lot of questions but I'M SO CONFUSED!!!!!!!!
Guidance counselors don't do ****!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
2 replies

A photo of kyleigh711 kyleigh711