yconic - Switch to McGill or uOttawa
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Switch to McGill or uOttawa

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
I am in yet another dilemma.

I am currently a UofT student in linguistics in my 2nd year. I love linguistics so much, and I'm really good when it comes to learning languages. My goal was to become a linguist and polyglot. But I am starting to rethink my career path.

Like most people, I am worried about money. So much that I decided to postpone my 2nd year to stay in my home city (Ottawa) to work and save up to return. Toronto is too expensive for me, and I'm not exactly fond of it. The only reason I would return would be for university.

Recently, I've been reevaluating my education and reapplied to McGill's linguistics program. It's a great school, and Montreal is a world-class city. Being bilingual, I love it more than Ottawa. I would love to move there. Not to mention it's cheaper to live there than Toronto (though still more expensive than Ottawa).

I've all but ruled out returning to Toronto.

But now I'm even more confused. I want to have a good job, but linguistics doesn't guarantee me a well-paying job. I'd have to work at a university for a long time or work in speech-language pathology.