yconic - The age old question; what university?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

The age old question; what university?

A photo of pupil pupil
Hello,
I am a mid ninety student in grade eleven at a catholic school (no AP or IB programs). I am a little flustered by the drop in my marks this semester, but hope to make a 95 average in grade twelve. As most of you who are searching this forum topic, I am a med-school hopeful and was wondering which universities would be good choices. Ive researched a fair amount and have noticed a lot of comments on UofT's competitiveness. I, like most, will also be applying to the health sciences program (though I do see this as a distant speck in my unlikely future lol). I understand that a high GPA is favored (basically required) among medical schools, along with an outstanding mcat score, and was wondering whether it would be in my favor to instead attend a smaller university with less competition. I'm a little conflicted, and would appreciate any advice.
Thank you very much,
Pupil
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies

A photo of ArchEnemy ArchEnemy
Hi Pupil,

First off, I would like to congratulate you on getting high scores. I really hope you do get that 95% :) Honestly from my very own experience as a first year student at UofT currently, I believe you should go to where you feel you can perform best.