yconic - Transfer Advice? Please help!
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Transfer Advice? Please help!

A photo of AuraFlora AuraFlora

I'm currently in my second year of university in a two year premed program (81 credits, approx. 50 credits sciences and approx. 30 credits social sciences and language courses) and will be graduating with a diploma this spring. I have submitted my application to the med school that has thirty or so spots reserved for the people who graduate from the program I'm in. I am now trying to finalize my back-up plan.

My options are the following:

1) Apply to med school again by staying at the school I'm at and complete

a) a multidisciplinary science degree by completing another year of university. I like this option, but my program director told me it wasn't a good one for me since I am interested in completing a master's if I'm not accepted to med school and a multidisciplinary degree wouldn't give me an edge like a BSc Honors would.

b) a BSc Honors in either chemistry or biochemistry by completing two more years of university. I like this option, but I am hesitant to fully embrace it since my life at this school is non-existent.