yconic - Transition into a Second Semester Recovery...Advice?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Transition into a Second Semester Recovery...Advice?

A photo of PeckThyRooster PeckThyRooster
Hi everyone,

I'm a first year Science student at UBC Vancouver and I need some advice.

I was enrolled in 4 courses for the first semester, and after going into the first week feeling really excited and motivated, things started to slowly fall apart and old habits kicked in. Procrastination, a feeling of emptiness/unfulfillment, not very much physical activity (I consider myself to be quite active and healthy). After all was said and done, at the end of the semester I have failed Math as well as Chemistry (45%), barely passed Biology and got an average mark in Physics.

Going into second semester, is there any personal advice (anecdotes welcome) that those who can relate have experienced? I passed all the lab components that I took, but I'm worried because Math is not offered in the second semester and neither is Chem.

One big improvement is that I will be moving closer to campus (3 hr round trip in term 1) so it will be only about a 30-40min round trip. I just need some advice on what others who experienced a similar first term did. I was 6th overall in my graduating class from high school, so I know I can do well, I just don't really know where I want to go and what I want to do. Even though my best mark was in Physics, I have always thought to go into the Life Sciences, maybe Biochem. But I just don't know right now.

tl;dr I have failed two of my first term courses (out of 4) and need some advice to get back on track for term 2.

Thanks in advance.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
1 replies