yconic - Undergrad in Engineering then MBA for Grad
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Undergrad in Engineering then MBA for Grad

A photo of Gladis Gladis
Hi everyone: I am currently in my final year in high school and was looking to go into the engineering field, mainly civil. My ultimate goal after this is to get an MBA, along with my Bachelors on engineering. Im planning to apply to
U of T, Queens, Ryerson and Waterloo's Civil engineering program.
Im leaning towards U of T because of its prestige factor, the fact that it's close to home and the fact that it has the Skoll program that combines the MBA with thee BaSC. My question is which university should i go to?, will the tough work of U OF T hinder the chances of me getting in a grad school for an MBA or should I go to an easier school like Ryerson to inflate the GPA, but its less prestigious and might be harder to find a job out of undergrad. Also how hard is U of T for Civil Engineering, would it be difficult to get a B TO B+ GPA.

Thanks in Advance, and all insight is welcome.

Cheers
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of iliketurtles iliketurtles
From what I know (which is pretty much what I read off here lol and what my family knows), getting into an MBA program is more about work experience than marks. Of course I'd imagine having good marks would help, but work experience is more important at that point. I would imagine most people graduate with their bachelors in engineering, work for a few years in industry, then as they move up get their MBA (usually paid for by the company). This is what my dad did, but of course it's only one case. I'm sure there are more experienced people who could answer your question better.