yconic - University of Guelph and Applying to Medical School
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

University of Guelph and Applying to Medical School

A photo of bschmidt3209 bschmidt3209
Hello. I am a student accepted into both a biochemistry program at Western and Guelph. Despite Western's well known reputation, especially for medical sciences, I am leaning towards Guelph. This is because I am accepted into their biochemistry co-op program. If I do not get into medical school, or decided for some reason not to apply, I would be very interested in medical research. Therefore, I think the co-op would be a very good option, both for experience and some extra money. I was wondering if I decided to do the co-op program if I could apply for medical school in my fourth year and get in and attend without completing my last academic term. Thanks for all your help :)
Was this helpful? Yes 0
8 replies

A photo of Massy06 Massy06
wat's the question?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Sorry. The question is: can I apply to a medical school and have a chance of getting accepted if I am in my fourth year of a co-op program and have not completed my last academic term (one more semester in the following fall). Any guidance would be much appreciated.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of mynameismattgotmlgo mynameismattgotmlgo
^ Are you sure you'd still have a semester left after fourth year? If so, then you'd probably only be able to apply to start the Fall following that last semester, unless you chose not to complete your degree (which is possible; remember: you don't need a degree to get into med school).