yconic - UofT/Waterloo to MIT
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

UofT/Waterloo to MIT

A photo of qpls qpls
Hello Everyone,

I am currently in my final year of highschool and have just received acceptance to both the Waterloo and UofT computer science programs. After completing undergrad at one of the aforementioned universities, I intend on pursuing graduate studies at MIT. While I am aware that Waterloo is one of the best technical schools in Canada, I am also aware that UofT has a better reputation abroad. If I plan on applying to MIT which university would I be better off attending for undergrad?

Thanks in Advance,

qpls
Was this helpful? Yes 0
15 replies

A photo of ZzZ ZzZ
The student matters more than the university....
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of greygoose greygoose
To be honest, I don't think it would make any difference. As ZzZ said, it is the student that matters most.

And if it makes you feel any better, I know a guy who went to Waterloo for his Master's (and Waterloo's CS grad school is definitely worse than U of T's), and he got accepted to both MIT *and* Berkeley for his PhD. Very brilliant guy who has done a lot of great research.

It depends on your ability and accomplishments much more than your school.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of iRamie iRamie

@ZzZ wrote

+1
Do you think its possible for a student from Canada to directly go to MIT upon graduation?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ZzZ ZzZ

@iRamie wrote

@ZzZ wrote

+1
Do you think its possible for a student from Canada to directly go to MIT upon graduation?

I am not sure about that. But, I hope you get some answers in the thread you just started...:cheers:
Was this helpful? Yes 0