yconic - URGENT*ADV.FUNCTIONS!
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

URGENT*ADV.FUNCTIONS!

A photo of Nitrous Nitrous
So basically I have done terrible on my first two tests in advanced functions..I mean terrible like high fifties.. embarrassing I know! Can I still get a 75 realistically! Can some one offer tips? I studied my ass off for my last test like 20 plus hours no lie.

I find it really hard and I plan on going into business. All of my other courses will be low to high 80's. What to do please help!!!!!!

thanks
Was this helpful? Yes 0
8 replies

A photo of ruf ruf
In order for you to achieve a 75% in Advanced Functions given your current situation you will need to average approximately 79% in the remainder of your course, including the final examination. This approximate calculation assumes term work is weighted 70% of your final grade and the final examination is worth 30%, AND that the average of your first two tests was 77.5%.

I want to make it clear to you, however, that students achieving high fifties in an Advanced Functions course find it difficult to increase their averages by such an increment. Fifteen percent is a respectable jump that does not happen regularly after. My advice to you is this:
[LIST]
[*] Spend a good amount of time reviewing the content of the first two units (if the curriculum has not changed too much, I assume it is Introduction to Functions and Rates of Change), and gain a solid understanding of the material here. You can not do well in the course if you ignore your underperformance on these tests, it will stunt your progress throughout the rest of the course.