yconic - UWO: Biomed vs. Kin
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

UWO: Biomed vs. Kin

A photo of csze csze
I'm having difficulty choosing between both programs. I've already accepted my biomed offer, but I am highly considering changing to kin, just because I feel like it focuses on physiology and anatomy in comparison to biomed which is just bio, chem physics..

does anyone have any opinions between the two? I am planning on applying to med or pharm school in the near future..so which one would you recommend?

At the same time, I'm not strong in physics, so if i go into kin maybe I can avoid it lmao.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
As a kin student I highly recommend Kin. Many Med school do not have preference in a particular program. You could do bio, engineering, psychology... as long as the prerequisites are there and you have a high gpa you are set.

As well, what are you going to do in a worst case scenario if you do not get accepted your first or second try and have to wait for a year or two. It is either work in a lab or as a kinesiologist working with people. In my opinion there is more diversity for kin than Biomed.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of skittlesmeister skittlesmeister
I'm in Biomed myself, but from what you've said in your post and your interests, I'd say you should actually switch to Kin. I've got a few friends myself who are in Kin/just graduated from Kin. The stuff that they've learned is a lot more physical and about the human anatomy - not to mention it's very applicable to everyday situations as well.

And the physics aspect? You really don't need much for either program. I think you need to take a physical course either way.