yconic - Waterloo AFM recruiting
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Waterloo AFM recruiting

A photo of timduncan01 timduncan01
Hi,

I'm a first year afm-pa student. How hard is it to get a big 4 + BDO coop placement in the second term if I'm not so successful in doing so in the first term. I'll hopefully have the grades but am extremely short on volunteer and work experience and wonder if I'll be able to compete with those who do have it. Thank you.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
23 replies

A photo of g93 g93

@timduncan01 wrote
Hi,

I'm a first year afm-pa student. How hard is it to get a big 4 + BDO coop placement in the second term if I'm not so successful in doing so in the first term. I'll hopefully have the grades but am extremely short on volunteer and work experience and wonder if I'll be able to compete with those who do have it. Thank you.

There are a few things that are taken into consideration by these firms. Volunteering and work experience are just two of them. If you can network well, the recruiters like you, and are a good fit with the firm, you can get in with sub-par other things.

I would suggest asking these questions at the Managing Professional Relationships and Navigating Opportunities event. There will be people on-hand who can answer these kind of questions. You could also sign up for the adopt-a-co-op. Both can be found on the AFSA website.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of BobbySproulee BobbySproulee
Not sure why you're asking for B4 + BDO, GT is a much bigger firm.