yconic - Waterloo Software Engineering (How Can i Prepare?)
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Waterloo Software Engineering (How Can i Prepare?)

A photo of iRamie iRamie
I am in grade 11 right now and I plan on going to Waterloo for Software Engineering.

My average right now is around 85% with math being my lowest mark (81%). I can program very well and already have some experience programming for companies and managing server level applications, etc..
But the thing i am worried about is my marks because i have heard people with 90+ can get into software engineering only as it is a very competitive program.

Can someone who has experience please give me some advice on how as a grade 11 student i can prepare for this Program and what i must do to get accepted for this (Volunteering, Contests, Experience, Grades, etc).

Thank you so much.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
6 replies

A photo of Haru Haru
If you're going into Software Engineering, it would make sense to do physics/chem and obviously programming contests.
SOme of the ones I did in gr. 11 include: CCC, ECOO, ACSL and Avagadro Chem Contest.
I also suggest you to take the Sir Isaac Newton (SIN) Physics Contest. It is challenging, but participation counts a lot too. Also, do as many math contests as possible! (Fermat/Hypatia/Sun Life Open etc)
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of iRamie iRamie
I don't quite why understand they put so much emphasis on participating in those math contests? Like its just a contest, why are we pressured into writing it?
Also if you know, why do they put chemistry and physics as a pre-requisite to this program and don't even put ICS or TEJ as a pre-requisite?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

This post was deleted