yconic - What chances do I have of getting a scholarship?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

What chances do I have of getting a scholarship?

A photo of Haala93 Haala93
I'm new to Canada I've only been here for a semester of school and My grades didn't really do that well. My Cumulative Average is 80% after Grade 11(which is really bad). And everything I've worked for in the previous years count for nothing even though I had a 4.0 GPA But I'm fairly confident I can get above 90's in all my classes next year and am concerned about whether or not my grade 11 marks will greatly effect my chances of getting a scholarship because the only volunteer work currently going towards my record is the little I did the past semester.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
14 replies

A photo of vel vel
Grade 11 marks mean crap. Buck up in Grade 12 and hit it out of the park first semester. Watch the scholarships come rolling in (and bitches of course).

Good luck. Write a lot of those essay based ones. RBC also has an immigrant scholarship every year, so you can start working on that one. Chances are less, but it's always worth a shot right?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of vel vel
Grade 11 marks mean crap. Buck up in Grade 12 and hit it out of the park first semester. Watch the scholarships come rolling in (and bitches of course).

Good luck. Write a lot of those essay based ones. RBC also has an immigrant scholarship every year, so you can start working on that one. Chances are less, but it's always worth a shot right?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

Thanks but an Immigrant scholarship doesn't apply to me sadly because I was born in Canada just lived abroad since 8th grade. Thank you for the advice though.