yconic - What is the difference between a nurse and a doctor?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

What is the difference between a nurse and a doctor?

A photo of milliex51 milliex51
Is this question serious? There is a very big and obvious difference between nurses and doctors, which you should know if you've ever been anywhere around a hospital or doctor's office.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
4 replies

A photo of ktel ktel
Is this question serious? There is a very big and obvious difference between nurses and doctors, which you should know if you've ever been anywhere around a hospital or doctor's office.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Anonymous Anonymous
I'm a nursing student, and so maybe I can help clarify a few things for you. It's okay to be confused or if you're uncertain about which career path you may want to take... I wasn't sure when I initially applied into university, but it worked out and I absolutely love nursing so far!
As for the key differences (doctors and nurses are very different in terms of practice and focus), most doctors do the diagnosing (so they find out whats wrong, and tell the patient) and order medications and other orders. Nurses are the ones who really "care" for the patient (not saying that doctors don't care or anything), because nurses are the ones who ask personal questions (family, lifestyle, etc) and make sure they are comfortable, but most importantly they advocate for them - meaning they will stand up and speak out for the patient. Nurses are usually the ones patients go to for help, physically or emotionally and also conduct assessments, administer medications, etc.
I remember hearing "doctors diagnose, nurses heal" That kind of sums it up. lol