yconic - What to do with a business degree?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

What to do with a business degree?

A photo of frozenyogurt frozenyogurt
What do people do after getting their business degree? Start their own businesses? I am not planning on going into business (I'm going either Science or Engineering), but I'm just curious. What's the reasoning behind going to business school?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of onlymatthew onlymatthew
Truthfully, I would say a lot of people decided that they would go into business through process of elimination. I've asked many people why they picked their business program and many have just said "I'm not good at science, lol". Business is a logical alternative since you have the opportunity to still make money and it's a competitive, rewarding field.

I would say business degrees are a lot more versatile than engineering of science degrees. Without additional schooling, you're pretty limited with just a science degree. You'd be restricted to only the science industry (or if you picked a very specific specialization, perhaps only that sector) and be pretty forced to pursue a professional or graduate school. Science is seemingly more narrow than business. In business, you can literally work in any industry possible.

Our society is run by businesses, and did you know that businesses are often run by people with business degrees?! It's a crazy world we live in. Businesses aren't just composed of entrepreneurs. Some of the major streams include finance, accounting, marketing and HR, and lots of companies will require people in each of those positions.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of bcd92 bcd92