yconic - What's My Best Option? [Architecture]
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

What's My Best Option? [Architecture]

A photo of clhuynh clhuynh
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a grade 12 student striving towards a career in architecture. Right now, I'm having a difficult time deciding where I should go if not my first choice. My first choice right now is Ryerson Architectural Sciences and the decision is still pending. I have been accepted to three other programs and I am looking for some helpful advice on each. If anyone is enrolled in these programs or applying to the same, it'd be great if you could enlighten me!

Either way, I'm going to have to take my master's in architecture. But before I do that, I want a strong foundation!

University of Toronto: Bachelor of Arts, Architectural Studies

PROS:
- Great name recognition
- Extra-curriculars
- Math and science courses

CONS:
- Reapply second year (25% admittance?)
- More theory-based

OCAD U: Environmental Design

PROS:
- Great professors
- Fun electives
- Great resources

CONS:
- No math and science
- No extra-curriculars
- Small campus

Ryerson University: Urban Planning

PROS:
- Extra-curriculars
- Different options - Urban Planning might end up interesting me more!

CONS:
- Different from architecture
- No prep for master's

Any advice?
I did not apply to Carleton's program, and was unfortunately rejected by Waterloo. Ryerson is my ideal choice, but I know it's tough to get in.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
23 replies

A photo of ghettopineap ghettopineap
where'd you hear of the u of t second year reapply thing ? I don't know much about the program but I am also looking to go there if not admitted to waterloo ryerson or carleton .