yconic - Where should I transfer to for Poli Science? HELP!
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Where should I transfer to for Poli Science? HELP!

A photo of Thaddeus Thaddeus
Hi!

Here is my dilemma. I am currently in my first year, studying Political Science at the University of Victoria; I am really enjoying the teaching and hope to one day attend law school.

I am vain; Prestige, Old buildings, Strong School Culture/ Identity
are important to me.
Where would I be happiest?(Which School do you think I should transfer to):
Queens
UofA
UofS
uOttawa
Dalhousie
McGill
Stay at UVic

Although it is vain, here are the in depth reasons I am not satisfied with UVic:

1) I know it is vane, but UVic has, at least in BC, little prestige, and a reputation for being a bit of a party school/being very left wing (hippie school).

NOTE: I can honestly say this is untrue..perhaps 10 or 15 years it was true, but now the demographics have changed and UVic is now the second biggest research institution in BC with very, very serious and competitive students. Regardless I fear the bad stereotypes of UVic will not have completely changed by the time I graduate in 2015. Also I realize the law school here has a very good rep. and prestige, but I am just talking about undergrad for now.

2) I am disappointed in the lack of school culture, identity, unity, and traditions at UVic. I came from a high school were school spirit was taken very seriously, so it is a big change for me. I know this too probably sounds silly when it comes to deciding on a Uni.