yconic - Which is the better roommate?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Which is the better roommate?

A photo of Nexus111 Nexus111
I am an engineering student at uWaterloo and I was wonder if it is better to suggest a roommate who i am great friends with or should i room with people who are also in engineering. My friends are doing life sci and comp sci in the same study stream as me but i also have friends (who im not as close with) but are also in engineering as an option.

Is it better to have roommates who you are really comfortable with or roommates who are in the same program?
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of ktel ktel
In engineering especially I can't emphasize enough how important it is to have friends in your program. I wouldn't have been able to do half my assignments without some form of help from a friend (sometimes this just consisted of them pointing out a math error).

That being said, even if your roommate is not an engineer, there will hopefully be several on your floor or in your residence, and you will find each other soon enough.

But, I will advise, great friends don't necessarily make great roommates. It can often make or break a friendship.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Nexus111 Nexus111
thank for the advice. I was leaning towards staying with people in my program but i would also like to know what are the chances for see friends around campus who are in different programs than you. I have been close friends with one of theses guys for years now and i still want to chill with him from time to time if i can. Even tho i know there wont be much time since im going into engineering.
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of ktel ktel