yconic - Will med school look at your program or school?
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Will med school look at your program or school?

A photo of Krista Cow Chau Krista Cow Chau
Hi!

When applying for med school, I was just wondering whether they looked at my undergrad program or the school from which I graduated from?
If I go to a school that isn't so great in the sciences, will that affect my chances of getting in?
I also heard that med schools prefer biomed or health sciences over life sciences because they believe life sciences is too general.

Does anyone have any experience with this?
>< Thanks!
Was this helpful? Yes 0
12 replies

A photo of hippoo hippoo

@Krista Cow Chau wrote
Hi!

When applying for med school, I was just wondering whether they looked at my undergrad program or the school from which I graduated from?
If I go to a school that isn't so great in the sciences, will that affect my chances of getting in?
I also heard that med schools prefer biomed or health sciences over life sciences because they believe life sciences is too general.

>< Thanks!

Hi there,
From my experience with Canadian applications, I don't think any school really cares much about your undergrad program/school, in terms of quantifying your score for admissions. The most important thing is what marks you got from your program. Having said that, I think it's important to validate why you chose the program you did, and how your studies have you led to pursue medicine.
As for the school, if you think about it, there isn't really a fair or equitable way the admissions committees can, or should, differentiate between schools.