yconic - Work Experience vs. Volunteerism
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

Work Experience vs. Volunteerism

A photo of mry021397 mry021397
I'm a grade nine student and I'm looking to figure out where my priorities should be. One of the main questions that I'm wondering is in regards to work experience vs. volunteerism. Does anyone know what universities/scholarship "granters" (if that's the right word) see as more "valuable" in the admissions process? If my perspective of this entire topic is completely off, please let me know.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
6 replies

A photo of napinhei napinhei
Well, I don't know if this will help you...

Personally, I believe work experience is more valuable. Not only are you going to earn money in the process which you can put towards university, but it is reliable money that you know will exist. It is also valuable because it will help you at university if you decide to do co-op there.