yconic - would i get accepted?!?!
Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

would i get accepted?!?!

A photo of RaCsO RaCsO
i am a grade 11 student in an ontario high school. i have heard that grade 11 marks doesnt count, other than for early acceptance. i am having a 70% in english right now. i have about 97% in gr.11 pre-ap math, and i have around 87% in all my other classes. and i predict i would have them up to 90% in gr.12 (gotta work hard :S)

so for grade 12, should i put my english at the second semester, so when i apply they wouldn't see my horrible english mark.
But than i thought about weather they would look at my gr 11. english since they dont have my gr.12 english mark yet.

Also i am planning to apply to UW, UofT, for actuarial science. would they consider the top 6? or would they include the prerequisites in it.
Was this helpful? Yes 0
7 replies

A photo of RaCsO RaCsO
so basically my question is:
- does gr.11 english affect my marks?? even a little bit??
- should i place english in 2nd semester or 1st semester
- if i have in gr.12 a 70% in english, but around 90% in all my other classes, would the english mark really affect my chance??
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of inthemaking inthemaking
1. Grade 11 marks don't matter except for early acceptance
2. Prereqs for the program will be included in the top 6 calculation
3. Doesn't really matter if you take grade 12 English in 1st/2nd semester..either way it is a prereq and HAS to be included in your admission average. If you take it in 2nd sem then it will take longer to be accepted (since they only have a midterm mark for that in Feb-March).