yconic - YSDN vs OCAD
Hide Menu

My Feed Money for School Student Help Brands Winners Support Center

Explore yconic
Explore Student Life Topics
Scotiabank
STUDENT CHAMPION
yconic proudly recognizes Student Champion Partners who are providing our community with superior support for their student journeys. Learn More
Student Help Brands

YSDN vs OCAD

A photo of Vinsia Vinsia
Hello everyone,

I'm a grade 12 student who has already submitted applications to university. I have applied to the YSDN program at York and Sheridan, and also OCAD's Graphic Design program. Which place is beneficial, and better? What are the interviews like? Also, do any of you have any tips for me, about portfolio development?

**If any of you are interested in critiquing work that I want to put into my portfolio, here is a link to my online portfolio (well...tumblr page) :)

http://mangobangles.tumblr.com/

Your advice and help will be greatly appreciated! :)
Was this helpful? Yes 0
5 replies

A photo of bizgirl bizgirl
Hey,

I'm also interested in YSDN however I'm a little worried about the sketchbook part, I'm not one to sketch everything I see (more so take pictures lol) but I love making graphics and designing websites lol...Good luck!

I went to the Ontario University Fair and actually talked to one of the professors, he said that he wants someone who filled their sketchbook and draws before anything but thats where I'm worried.

BTW, how did you fill your sketchbook...are you one to draw everything you see?
Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of Vinsia Vinsia
Nope I haven't filled my sketchbook,
but then i have lots of things from my old sketchbook that I plan to
put into the "portfolio" sketchbook :)
Oh and I also do sight-drawing, like draw what I see
But i like to draw things from imagination/memory

Was this helpful? Yes 0

A photo of username22 username22
ocad loves creativity over realism.
and do not, like to see alot of cartoons or anime.